Dealing with a fumble

Today I am considering this:

July walking chart

This is the chart of all the walking I did during the month of July. I wrote about my calendars back in April, when I first printed out the months and taped them to the wall of the room where my treadmill lives. I said how motivating it was when I made my progress more visible, when I could tell at a glance how well I was doing at my goal of walking regularly — here’s what May looked like, as an example. Lots of walking happened in May.

May walking chart

There was a problem I hadn’t considered back then. Making progress really visible also makes lack of progress really visible. Looking at July is painful. I did so little work and lost so much ground. Not just in walking, in nearly everything. In many areas it’s not quite as obvious as my walking chart makes it, but I know it’s true. I can feel it. It’s been a huge struggle to restart any of my stalled habits, all the things that I thought I was doing so well with and that were helping me be more healthy and feel better about myself.

I’m trying not to be hard on myself. July was an exceptional month — I don’t want to dwell on the ways in which it was exceptional and hard right now, but it was. I’m not back on track anywhere yet, I don’t even know where all my tracks are or should run now. I feel more than a little lost, a lot of the time.

What to do with July? I don’t know if I can do anything with it, July is over now. Now I have August, and here’s what I’ve done with it so far:

August walking chart

2 comments so far

  1. Kim on

    Sounds like we had similar July’s. I’m up for a re-start beginning August. Shall we support each other through it?

    • stitchesandwords on

      You’re on, Kim. Here’s to August!


Leave a Reply

