Other good things

I’ve been doing a fair amount of writing and posting in this-here blog lately, and that’s a good thing.  I’ve wanted to and I’m carrying through with that intention.  Very good, I approve of that.

What I have not been doing is tackling the editing of a series of essays I want to publish as a collection.  I feel stuck on a couple of major points, and I haven’t been facing up to them and setting to work.  I had hoped to be farther along by now, but my reluctance to engage my bravery and do the hard stuff means my progress has been poor.

Here is something true: one of the best ways in the world to avoid doing something good, but hard, is to fill up all your time with other good things.  You get to feel all virtuous about what you are doing while easing the bite of the important, good, hard thing that you never “seem to have time for.”

I’m taking a few minutes to feed the blog, and that’s good.  Now I’m all done here.  Bye internet, I have some good, important, hard things to wrestle with today.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

