Adventures

I feel like I’ve been in a bit of a quandary lately. Part of my daily routine now is to produce new writing, and it helps me hugely when I do, but I feel like I haven’t had much to write about. Nothing that feels very interesting to say, which probably means nothing very interesting to read about either.

A lot of the problem is that the most interesting things to write about, and I think to read, are stories. I mainly write stories about my own experiences. But lately, I haven’t been doing much. Well, I’ve been doing a lot of small things, but nothing that you’d tell a story about. Eating cereal for breakfast? Folding laundry? Sitting at the computer and typing, typing, typing? Good things to do. Not really great things to tell stories about.

I’ve been starting to feel a little bit squashed … on one side the pressure of not producing words, not putting anything creative into the world, and on the other not having anything to say that’s worth saying. It’s not a good feeling, stuck between those two things, it makes me feel anxious and distressed. But I’ve been at a loss about what to do.

What I really want to do is have some adventures, something to experience, something to write about. Except this is ME. I don’t do adventures. I’m a scardey-cat, remember?

Sigh. Being a scardey-cat is boring. You don’t get to DO anything.

What if there was an alternative to scardey-cat-ness, though? What if having an adventure was as simple and accessible as … getting up and having an adventure?

I’m not talking about moving to Ecuador or jumping out of a plane or challenging the vice-president to an arm-wrestling match. I’m not about to pretend that I’m suddenly very bold. But I am rather tired of sitting around waiting for permission to go have some fun, or instructions about how to do it correctly. I get so hung up on those things, and they haven’t actually helped me live better or feel better.

So I’m going to have an adventure today. I’m just going to pick something that I’d like to do, small enough that it’s not too scary, big enough that it’s something I would normally avoid.

I’m going to drive into Harrisburg (city driving is not what I think of as a good time) and take a walk along the river. It’s a beautiful, bright sunny day, and I’m going to go look at something pretty. Just because I can.

Adventure number one; here goes nothing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

