162 days

I usually avoid fussing with pictures because I’m not much good at it, but I need them today.

Last night I finished turning all of this stuff, plus another bundle that’s not in the picture (same size as the ones that are):

IMG_9294

Into this stuff, which is generally the same thickness as a really heavy sewing thread:

IMG_9657

I’m a spinner, I turn loose fiber into yarn. It’s a way to use beautiful materials to make one-of-a-kind yarns, and then one-of-a-kind pieces out of those yarns; it’s also a process I just plain enjoy, which is mostly why I do it. But it does take time. Progress can feel really slow.

As near as I can tell, this project took me 162 days. I’m not entirely done, I don’t have finished yarn yet, but the remaining steps are practically negligible compared to this step, turning fiber into thin string.

I remember being excited at the beginning, as I always am when I start something new. I also remember being tired of this project a number of times, mired in the endless middle. But I kept chipping at it, and now it’s done.

162 days. Visible, tangible proof today that slow and steady progress does take you somewhere, in the end. That’s a lesson I want to sit back and absorb for a while.

While admiring my new yarn in progress, which I like a lot. I’m really pleased with this stuff.

2 comments so far

  1. Lynn on

    That is really, really lovely!

  2. barb on

    I believe 162 days was well worth it for the beautiful yarn. just lovely.


Leave a Reply

