The wall

There’s a blank wall in my downstairs living space, a wall that I have thought many times that I should find something to put on, but have never carried through and done it.  It’s a short wall right beside my table, where I sit to eat and write and read and do anything that requires some flat space to work.

Today, I’m putting my bare wall to use.  I’m writing down three things that are important to me, three quotations that mean a lot to me right now.  Three lessons that I am learning.  Three gifts, in the form of words.

From Eleanor Roosevelt:

You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face.  You are able to say to yourself, ‘I lived through this horror.  I can take the next thing that comes along.’

From the poet Kalidasa, via Dale Carnegie:

Salutation to the Dawn

Look to this day!  For it is life, the very life of life.
In its brief course Lie all the verities and realities of your existence.
The bliss of growth, The glory of action, The splendor of achievement.
For yesterday is but a dream
And tomorrow is only a vision,
But today well lived makes yesterday a dream of happiness
And every tomorrow a vision of hope.
Look well, therefore, to this day!  Such is the salutation to the dawn.

From David the psalmist:

O God, you are my God,
earnestly I seek you;
my soul thirsts for you,
my body longs for you,
in a dry and weary land
where there is no water.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

