Meditation on Psalm 62:5-6

Lately I’ve been reading Psalm 62 in the mornings and sometimes when I go to bed, as its message is one that I really need right now. Verses 5 and 6 read thus:

Find rest, O my soul, in God alone;
my hope comes from him.
He alone is my rock and my salvation;
he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.

The thing that grabbed my eyes this morning was that word “alone” at the beginning of verse 6. He alone is my rock, my salvation, my fortress. Words having to do with defense, security, stability, being saved, being safe. Do I ever feel like I could use more of those.

One of my biggest quandaries right now is in trying to figure out what to rely on as I move forward. Choosing the work I want to do means giving up security. It means I’ll need to learn how to work and live by my wits in a much deeper, more vital way than I’ve ever needed to before. I feel like there’s no way to find out if I can hack it and if I want to hack it except by trying, but what happens if I fail? Then what do I do and where do I go?

But the verse I’m reading says He alone is my security. It says that I will not be shaken. Not that I won’t feel shaken, but that I won’t be shaken. One could stand in the safest place in the universe and still be terrified. Fear doesn’t act rationally. And yet, would the fear mean that the person standing in the safest place wasn’t really safe?

How much do I believe that I am safe? That I am held, that my foundation is rock, that I am not going to be shaken? How much do I believe that my salvation is already taken care of, and that the rest of my life is going to be taken care of too? Many Christian people have said this and I will repeat it: if the Son of God had enough love and determination to face ultimate, astonishing pain and torment for my sake, why would he drop the ball now? Is sorting out the details of my life harder for him than what he has already done?

My fortress is secure, and my feet are on rock. It doesn’t make life unscary or the decisions I face less hard, but I don’t want to forget this. Even if I fail, I will not be shaken. Even with no job and no earthly security, I am not abandoned. My fear is less real than this truth.

3 comments so far

  1. brother on

    Amen.

  2. Shelly on

    I. Love. This. Post.
    Thanks for the reminder.

    —Shelly (mamatoboys)

  3. Other Brother on

    It’s God’s safe harbor, Why play it safe?
    -Newsboys


Leave a Reply

